Showing 2 results

Archival description
Rhees, Morgan J. (Morgan John), 1760-1804
Print preview View:

Press cuttings and letters,

A scrap-book of J. H. Davies containing cuttings of numerous articles on Morgan John Rhys, Baptist minister and author, by T. Shankland, Rhyl, John T. Griffiths, Lansford, Pa., E. K. Jones, Brymbo, and [J.] Spinther [James], and cuttings entitled 'Hen Lyfrau ar Fedydd' by T. Valentine Evans, Clydach, 'Ymholiad yn nghylch Catecism Abel Morgan' by [J.] Spinther [James], 'Morris Griffiths, Prendergast, Hwlffordd' by T. Shankland, 'Swp o Hen Farwnadau' by E. K. Jones, 'Rival Historians in Wales' (critical of Beriah Gwynfe Evans, Diwygwyr Cymru) by J. Morgan Jones [1838-1921; co-author of Y Tadau Methodistaidd], 'Yr Encilion' (on the text and authorship of Welsh hymns) by T. Shankland, etc.; and holograph letters to J. H. Davies from T. Shankland, Rhyl, [18]99-1903 (7) (bibliography of Morgan John Rhys, a search of St Asaph diocesan records for material on the family of Morgan Llwyd, a study by the writer of 'Thomas Charles a'r Feibl Gymdeithas', publications on the SPCK in Wales, etc.), D. H. Davies, Cenarth Vicarage, 1901 (ballads, etc., in the writer's library), J. Spinther James, Llandudno, 1901 (information on D. Risiart, issues of Seren Gomer), and R. Davies, Liverpool, 1898 (the dispatch of books to the recipient).

Llythyrau at William Hobley, &c.,

Letters addressed to William Hobley and others by Frederick Dally, Wolverhampton, 1900; R. Davies, Treborth, 1889; John R. Davies, Bangor, 1924; J. H. Davies, Aberystwyth, 1912; Ellis Edwards, Bala, 1905-1910, Thomas Charles Edwards, Liverpool, Aberystwyth and Bala, 1872-1894; Roger Edwards, Mold, 1881; Thomas Edward Ellis, 1898; J. R. Furness, Conway, 1893; T. W. Griffith, Llandudno, 1897; John H. Hobley, New York and Chicago, 1886-1899; R. Humphreys, Liverpool; W. H. Hume Humphreys, Australia, 1927; E. Penllyn Jones, Aberystwyth, 1897; Francis H. Jones, London, 1900; T. M. Jones, Prestatyn, 1930; J. T. A. Jones, Bala, 1901; John Jones ('Myrddin Fardd'), 1910; J. Puleston Jones, 1902-1924; Richard Jones, Llaneurgain, 1905; R[hys] B[evan] Jones, Porth, 1919; [Sir] Henry Lewis, 1904; E. I. Lloyd, Aberystwyth, 1905; John Lloyd, Wallaroo, 1898; Owen Lloyd, Caergwrle, 1898; Hugh Hughes, 1823; T. G. Crippen, London, 1904; A. Hobley, Randolph, 1891; John Davies, London, 1883; R. M. Davies, Bagillt; R. Ellis ('Cynddelw'), 1870; J. Gwenogvryn Evans; John Hughes, Islington, 1887; Selina, Countess of Huntington (autograph signature) to the congregation at Ely Chapel, 19 May 1790; Thomas Hughes, Chester, 1883; David Jenkins, Islington, 1878; Evan Doged Jones; Robert Jones, Llanfair, 1833; James Rhys Kilsby Jones, London, 1864; Howell Elvet Lewis, Hull; Mary Manuel, Llanover, 1878; M. F. Lloyd, Nannerch, 1879; S. A. Maude, Ruthin; R. Morgan, Beaumaris, 1872; Sir Lewis Morris, 1889; John Owen, Southport, 1916-1919; Robert O. Owens, Caernarvon, 1799, (concerning the distribution of Bibles); Alice Gray Jones ('Ceridwen Peris'); Eben Rees, Liverpool, 1883; Morgan John Rhys, Washington, 1795 (a copy of a part of a letter relating to John Evans and his journey up the Missouri); David Roberts, Wrexham, 1872; J. Ll. Roberts, Llanrwst, 1907; John Roberts, Tyddyn Willim, 1859; J. J. Roberts, Portmadoc; Samuel Roberts, 1881; R. R. Richards, Caerwys, 1829, with a copy of 'englynion Llys Ifor Hael' by Evan Evans ('Ieuan Brydydd Hir'); William Roberts, Timmalin, 1799; J. R. Williams, Pwllheli, 1898; W. J. Williams, Salford, 1871; Griffith Williams, Llannor, 1834; William Williams, Llangollen, 1898; Peter Williams, to David Jones, Llangan; L. P. Wynne Yorke, Dyffryn Aled; Thomas Thomas, Pontypridd, 1885; Owen Thomas, Liverpool, Tregeiriog, 1880; John Owen, Bala, 1906; John Owen, West Kirby, 1925; Owen J. Owen, Birkenhead, 1908; John Owens ('Ap Glaslyn'); J. Pritchard, Birmingham, 1908; H. Morgan Pugh, Carmel, 1906; J. E. Quinn, Bangor, 1921; D. Gwynedd Roberts, Conway, 1910; Robert Roberts, Llanbeblig, 1920; John Roberts, Bangor, 1895-1896; Morris Thomas, Bangor, 1910; John Thomas ('Eifionydd'), 1902; John Owen Thomas, Menai Bridge, 1902; R. Thomas, Talsarnau, 1909; [Sir] Ifor Williams, 1908; Isaac Jones Williams, Llandderfel, 1908; Hugh Williams, Bala, 1900; M. Williams, Bala-deulyn; W. Elias Williams, Pen-y-groes, 1922; H. Cernyw Williams, Corwen, 1904; Henry Jones Williams ('Plenydd'), 1910-1921; John Richard Williams ('Tryfanwy'), and others.