Showing 3 results

Archival description
Blackwell, Henry, 1851-1928
Print preview View:

Correspondence relating to the library of the University College of Wales, Aberystwyth,

  • NLW MS 12903B.
  • File
  • 1899-1906.

Twenty holograph letters and postcards, 1899-1906 and undated, from Lewis Angell, Eastbourne, Henry Blackwell, bookbinder, New York (2), A. W. Davies, secretary of 'Cymdeithas Dafydd ap Gwilym', Oxford [University], [the Reverend] E[van] Edwardes, Caerdeon Vicarage, Dolgelley (2), Geo[rge] Eyre Evans, Aberystwyth, R. Jenkin Jones, Aberdare, M. Mason, Greenwich, Helen Owen, Weston-super-mare, F. S. Price, Swansea, Tho[ma]s Prichard, Amlwch, J. [ ]. Reed, secretary of the Edward Lhuyd Society, Oxford [University] (2), [the Reverend] W[illiam] Rees, Llechryd, A. Roberts, Llanrwst, M. Roberts, Penrhyndeudraeth (2), and D[aniel] Lleufer Thomas, Swansea (2), all relating to the library, and more particularly the Welsh library, of the University College of Wales, Aberystwyth. Most of the letters contain offers to the library, by way of gift, sale, or exchange, of books, periodicals, and manuscript items (mainly correspondence), or suggestions as to persons who might be prepared to donate items. Addressees, where specified, include [Thomas Francis Roberts], principal, T. Mortimer Green, registrar, [Evan] Penllyn Jones, librarian [1872-1902], [J. D. Williams], librarian [1902- ], and J[ohn] Glyn Davies [all of University College, Aberystwyth].


Letters, 1918-32, to Archdeacon Evans from Henry Blackwell (New York), David Davies (archdeacon of Llandaff), David Evans (Trevor Rectory, Valley), D. T. Hughes (The Rectory, Talsarnau), Benjamin Jones (Llanfairisgaer Vicarage, Port Dinorwic), Lewis Jones (Rhyl), B. E. Moore ('Beatrice Rosenthal', Wragby, Lincolnshire), and A. Ivor Pryce (Bangor).

Letters: Bailey-Bux,

The correspondents include: André Barbier, 1924, W. Ambrose Bebb (2), 1924-1925, Henry Blackwell, New York (9), 1904-1925, Ivor Bowen, 1914, Rev. Thomas Bowen, Merthyr Tydfil (7), 1911-1920, Joseph A. Bradney (23), 1909-1925, Thomas Brigstocke, 1915, W. Brigstocke (4), 1895-1899, and J. Davies Bryan, 1923.

Barbier, André