Fonds GB 0210 CPRW - Campaign for the Protection of Rural Wales (CPRW) Records (formerly Council for the Preservation of Rural Wales Records),

Identity area

Reference code

GB 0210 CPRW


Campaign for the Protection of Rural Wales (CPRW) Records (formerly Council for the Preservation of Rural Wales Records),


  • 1928-1989 / (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

Previous deposits: 0.659 cubic metres (70 boxes, 1 box file); 2002 deposit: 0.063 cubic metres (7 boxes)

Context area

Name of creator

Biographical history

The Campaign for the Protection of Rural Wales (CPRW) is a national charity founded in 1928 by Sir Clough Williams-Ellis under the title of The Council for the Preservation of Rural Wales. The name was changed to the Council for the Protection of Rural Wales in 1962, followed by its current title in 1991. The aim of CPRW is to protect the countryside of Wales and to encourage development that will not detract from the natural environment or cultural heritage. The organisation has established itself as a highly respected consultation body for national and local government, environmental and heritage groups and private individuals. From the main directors' office in Welshpool a liaison officer supervises the Living Wales Project which employs two officers, one in North Wales and one in mid-Wales, whose work time is shared by the Brecon Beacons National Park Authority. Both the professional staff and volunteer members are employed to examine the environmental, ecological, economic and aesthetic aspects of planning applications and to undertake the necessary lobbying and campaigning. The implementation of proposals and financial matters are overseen by the Executive Committee and the Financial and General Purposes Committee. Close co-operation is maintained with bodies such as Cambrian Archaeological Association, Wales Wildlife and Countryside Link. Rural land use issues are discussed with government institutions within Britain and the European Union, the National Assembly and local authorities including National Parks. The CPRW also seeks to influence private developers and others who may threaten the qualities it seeks to protect. It provides a library service and it uses education and media publicity to inform the public of its function and activities.

The CPRW operates a scheme of Rural Wales Awards, presented to organisations or individuals who are considered to have made a substantial contribution to the preservation of the landscape and environment in Wales. There are seventeen regional branches and quarterly bulletins keep members informed of the organisation's activities. Annual study conferences have attracted distinguished naturalists and historians. The CPRW also produces annually three editions of Rural Wales Magazine which are distributed to members, politicians, local authorities, statutory and voluntary organisations and the media. Past presidents have included Lady Megan Lloyd George, 1949-1965, Wynford Vaughan Thomas, 1968-1972 and Lady (Baroness) Eirene Lloyd White, 1973-1989. Other distinguished members of CPRW committees have been Cecily Williams-Ellis, Capt. H.R.H. Vaughan and Col. Morrey Salmon.

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Deposited by CPRW per Mr Simon Meade, 1966, Mr Percy E. Owen, 1986, and Ms Helen Mrowiec, October 2002; C1986/42 ((1986 deposit)

Content and structure area

Scope and content

The fonds consists of three groups of papers of the Campaign for the Protection of Rural Wales (CPRW), formerly the Council for the Preservation of Rural Wales, and the Council for the Protection of Rural Wales, the first dated 1928-1961, deposited in 1966, the second (papers of the Caernarfonshire branch) dated 1976-1986, deposited in 1986, both of which had been described in a separate, earlier schedule. Both the 1966 group (Records and Classified files), and the third group (starting with General meeting minutes), deposited in 2002, are described here below. The 2002 deposit comprises General Meeting minutes, 1935-1971, Executive Committee minutes, 1935-1989, Finance and General Purposes Committee minutes, 1973-1989, Meetings of Trustees minutes, 1979-1989, and a committee attendance book, 1973-1989.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


Accruals are likely.

System of arrangement

The 1966 deposit is arranged into two groups, namely Records and Classified Files. The 2002 deposit has been arranged at NLW as five series: General Meeting minutes, Executive Committee minutes, committee attendance books, Finance and General Purposes Committee minutes and Meetings of Trustees minutes.

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Readers consulting modern papers in the National Library of Wales are required to sign the 'Modern papers - data protection' form.

Conditions governing reproduction

Usual copyright laws apply.

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes


Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Hard copies of the catalogue describing the 1966 and 1986 deposits of CPRW records (under the title Records of the Council for the Preservation of Rural Wales), and of this list, are available at NLW. The original box list supplied by CPRW is in the first box of the 2002 deposit.

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Additional records relating to the CPRW exist among the papers of individuals who worked closely with the organisation, namely Cecily Williams-Ellis, T. Duncan Cameron and William Condry (William Condry Papers, ref. PC1), all at NLW.

Related descriptions

Notes area


Title supplied from contents of fonds.

Alternative identifier(s)

Virtua system control number


GEAC system control number


Access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

This description follows NLW guidelines based on ISAD(G) Second Edition; AACR2; and LCSH.


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion

November 2002


  • English



Archivist's note

Compiled by Hilary A. Peters.

Archivist's note

The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: NLW Annual Report, 1966-67, p. 53 and 1986-87, p. 66; NLW schedule of records of the Council for the Preservation of Rural Wales and Council for the Protection of Rural Wales (1966 and 1986 deposits); hard copy schedule of NLW, William Condry Papers; official website of CPRW, November 2002.

Accession area