Fonds GB 0210 CLEIES - Clement Davies (Liberal MP) Papers,

Identity area

Reference code



Clement Davies (Liberal MP) Papers,


  • [1884]-1980 / (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

1.158 cubic metres (57 boxes, 2 rolls)

Context area

Name of creator

Biographical history

Clement Edward Davies (1884-1962), born Edward Clement Davies, Liberal politician, was educated at Trinity Hall, Cambridge. Clement Davies was a successful lawyer and published books on agricultural law. He was elected to the House of Commons in 1929 as the member for Montgomeryshire, and was the leader of the Liberal Party, 1945-1956. In 1939, he was the main author of a report to Caernarfonshire County Council on he anti-tuberculosis service in Wales, critical of the negligence of the rural authorities. He was chairman of the All Party Action Group which forced Neville Chamberlain to resign as prime minister in 1940. In 1955 he was nominated for Nobel Peace Prize. He was married to Jano Davies (1882-1969), and they had three sons and three daughters.

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Deposited by his wife Mrs Jano Davies and by his son Stanley Clement-Davies between 1962 and 1996.

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Clement Davies's papers, [c.1884]-1967, mainly Liberal Party papers, 1928-1962, Clement Davies's political career, 1929-1965, Welsh affairs, 1936-1962, peace movements, 1940-1962, foreign affairs, 1944-1962, constituency papers, 1951-1962, and home affairs, 1953-1963; and papers and correspondence of Jano Clement-Davies, 1873-1969, and papers of Stanley Clement-Davies, 1920-1963.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling

Action: All records have been retained..


Accruals are not expected.

System of arrangement

Arranged in subject and record type.

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Readers consulting modern papers in the National Library of Wales are required to sign the 'Modern papers - data protection' form.

Conditions governing reproduction

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes


Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

A hard copy of the catalogue is available at the National Library of Wales. The catalogue can be accessed online.

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

The House of Lords Record Office holds letters from Clement Davies to Lloyd George, 1939-1942 (LG), and Lord Beaverbrook, 1946-1949 (BBK C/112); Manchester University's John Ryland's Library holds letters to the Manchester Guardian, 1942-1955 (Guardian archives); and Sussex University Library holds correspondence and papers relating to World Government Associations, 1957-1960 (SxMs 33).

Related descriptions

Publication note

David M. Roberts, Clement Davies and the Liberal Party, 1929-1956 (unpublished University of Wales MA thesis, 1975, NLW ref. 1975/308), David M. Roberts, 'Clement Davies and the fall of Neville Chamberlain, 1939-40', Welsh history review, 8 (Dec. 1976), pp. 188-215, Emlyn Hooson, 'Clement Davies: an underestimated Welshman and politician', Journal of Liberal Democrat history, 24 (Autumn 1999), Alun Wyburn-Powell, Clement Davies: a liberal biography (2002).

Notes area


Title supplied from contents of fonds.

Alternative identifier(s)

Virtua system control number


Project identifier


Access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru = The National Library of Wales

Rules and/or conventions used

Description follows ANW guidelines based on ISAD(G) 2nd ed.;AACR2; and LCSH


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion

October 2004


  • English



Archivist's note

Compiled by Annette Strauch for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: NLW, Schedule of Clement Davies Papers (1981); Dictionary of Welsh biography, 1941-1970 (2001).

Accession area