File NLW MS 8490A - Gwaith Lewis William

Identity area

Reference code

NLW MS 8490A


Gwaith Lewis William


  • 1810-1816 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

Context area

Name of creator

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

A collection of 'englynion', 'cywyddau', carols, hymns and other poems by Lewis William, Liverpool, 1810-1816. The collection includes items by Evan James ('Ieuan ab Iago'), 1781, John Rees, Hugh Hughes ['Huw ap Huw' or 'Y Bardd Coch o Fôn'], Robert Lewis, 1782, 'Roberts, Ty du', D. Saunders and Lewis Edwards, Quaker, and a large number of hymns taken from printed and oral sources.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area


Formerly known as Llew Meirion 15.


Preferred citation: NLW MS 8490A

Alternative identifier(s)

Virtua system control number


GEAC system control number


Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Physical storage

  • Text: NLW MS 8490A.