File NLW MS 12416D. - Letters to John Lloyd of Wigfair,

Identity area

Reference code

NLW MS 12416D.


Letters to John Lloyd of Wigfair,


  • 1771-1809. (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

Context area

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Seventy-five holograph and autograph letters, notes, etc., addressed to John Lloyd at Garden Court, London, at Hafodunos near St. Asaph, at Wigfair near St. Asaph and elsewhere, 1771-1809.
They comprise letters from L'abbé Andreii, 1777 (personal); R. P. Arden, 1786 (legal and financial); Alexander Aubert, London, 1793-1800 (2) (personal); Mrs. D [ ] Aubert, Highbury House [Islington], 1799-1803 (3) (personal and social); L[ewis Bagot, bishop of] St. Asaph, St. Asaph, Blithfield, and Oxford Street, [London], 1793-1802 and undated (17) (the war against the French and tumults near Mold (1793), the death of [?the Reverend William Stodart] and proposals for filling his vacant preferments, namely Abergele, Bettws and a [prebendal stall] (1794), the appointment of a postmaster at [St. Asaph], the wretched condition of the parish of [?St. Asaph] - allowances to the poor being in arrears, roads neglected, etc., Mr. Jackson's presentation to the living of Abergele (1794), the government's measures to meet the grain shortage (1796), the renewal of recipient's lease of [ ] from the precentor [of St. Asaph], plundering in the neighbourhood of Mostyn (1797), the conduct of Mr. Fox and his friends in Parliament and the raising of supplies for carrying on the war (1797), the need for economy in the consumption of barley, oats and potatoes, and the 'high' state of the market in spite of economies and of the importation of grain (1801), the repeal of the Brown Bread Act, the King's success in filling departments of state and law after the secession of ministers (1801), 'dangerous tampering with Lord Penrhyn's Slate Quarries and amongst the Miners both in Anglesea and Flintshire' (1801), a bill to be introduced in the House of Commons concerning the conduct of the clergy (1802), appointments to the deanery of York and the chair of Hebrew at Christ Church [Oxford] (1802), the arrival [in London] of antiquities from Egypt (1802)); Thomas Baldwin, Hool, [?Cheshire], 1771 (description of a journey in North Wales – Festiniog, Bala, Talardd, Dinas Mouthy, with ascents of Arran Ben Llyn, Cader Idris and ?Arran Mouthy, notes on stratification); M[argaret] Bankes, Old Palace Yard, [London], [?daughter of John Wynne, bishop successively of St. Asaph and Bath and Wells], 1804 (the illness and death of her brother and the disposal of his estate, other family news); Mrs. Bankes, Duke Street, undated (personal and social); Miss [Sarah Sophia] Banks, Soho Square, [London], [sister of Sir Joseph Banks], 1787-1795 (4) (personal and family news, a request for a copy of Regulations of the Society of Royal British Bowmen, and for help in procuring specimens of a Macclesfield ½[d] and a Cronebane ½[d]); J. Barff, Oswestry, 1795 (financial and legal matters); Daines Barrington, London, Beaumaris, Carnarvon, etc., 1772-1787 and undated (13) (personal news and news of acquaintances, instruments from Mr. Ramsden, a promise of Gothic and Runic alphabets and of an account of Elden Hole, [Derbyshire], proposed journeys by Mr. Banks to Iceland and by Mr. Forster to the South Pole (1772), a fire at Garden Court, London (1775), the height of Snowdon, the receiving of the two Forsters [Johann Reinhold Forster and his son Johann Georg Adam Forster, who had accompanied Captain Cook on his second voyage] by the King and Queen (1775), the preparation by Forster [senior] of a specimen narrative [in connection with his voyage] for Lord Sandwich's approbation (1775), the arrival of the Gymnotus Electricus, a letter to Mr. Panton stating that Lloyd would be glad to have copies of the correspondence between Sir John Wynne of Gwedir and Sir Hugh Myddelton, Mr. Panton's kindness in allowing the writer to peruse certain Gwedir papers, Lord Bulkeley's improvements at Baron Hill, [Anglesey], an ascent of Mont Blanc (1787), Mr. Herschel's discovery of two satellites to the Georgium Sidus [Uranus], a request for the return of 'the MS. Memoirs of Owen Glendower', the returning of books, namely Milnes Dictionary, Hill's British Herbal, Watson's Chemistry, etc., a gift of a pamphlet ?Letter from the Hon. Daines Barrington, F.R.S., to William Heberden, M.D., F.R.S., giving an Account of some Experiments made in North Wales to ascertain the different Quantities of Rain which fell in the same Time at different Heights [a copy of which is attached]); [William Henry Cavendish Bentinck, 3rd duke of] Portland, Whitehall, 1795 (representations made by Lloyd that troops should be quartered at Ruthin, the writer's suggestion to the Secretary at War that this was necessary in order to protect the county gaol where rioters were imprisoned); John ?Binnie, St. Asaph, 1809 (personal); J. Blackburn, St. James Street, [London], [1784] (personal); C[harles] Blagden, Philadelphia, [Pennsylvania], and [London], 1778-1796 and undated (4) (mathematical instruments at the college in Philadelphia including a very fine orrery, public lectures to be delivered in the town [of Philadelphia] (1778), the evacuation of Philadelphia by British forces and news of the war in America, letters by Mr. Mills relating to volcanic appearances in the Western Isles, the discovery of two comets by Miss [Caroline] Herschel and [Pierre Francois Andre] Mechain (1790), an acknowledgement of the receipt, on behalf of the Royal Society, of a copy of Edward Jones's The Prevention of Poverty (1796), news of electrical experiments); Lord and Lady de Blaquieres, Denbigh, 1798 and undated (2) (personal and social); Thomas Bolt, Lerwick, [Scotland], 1792 (relief of poverty caused in the area by the effects of bad crops and poor fishing, comments on the opinion held by certain people that the sun was visible for twenty four hours at the summer solstice); B. S. Booth, undated (a request for a ticket to attend debates at the House of Commons); Thomas Boydell, Trevellyn, 1794 (a lease of land on Mold mountain); Dr. William Brownrigg, Ormathwaite [?Cumberland], 1778-1780 (2) (Lloyd's trip to [Cumberland] to see the black lead mines, a request for a specimen of native lead from Anglesea); [Elizabeth Harriet Bulkeley, nee Warren,] Lady Bulkeley, Stanhope Street, [London], undated (personal); [Thomas James Bulkeley, later Warren-Bulkeley, lord] Bulkeley, Stanhope Street, Old Windsor, 1788-1801 and undated (10) (personal news, the tactics of the Opposition in parliament with regard to the issues arising out of the illness of the King [George III] (1788), [William] Pitt [the younger]'s defence of the King and his three parliamentary resolutions for meeting the constitutional crisis and creating a Regency (1788), Captain Williams's canvass of the county of Carnarvon (1790), 'adventures in Copper & Slate' on the writer's land by recipient, the assassination of the Duke of Orleans, talk of sending a fleet to the Baltic (1791), the situation in the East Indies (1791), a meeting with the Duchess of York, the imminence of a French attack upon the Electors of Treves and Mayence and the emmigrants at Coblentz [1791], the destruction of the Duke of Richmond's house at Privy Garden by fire, Sir Watkin Williams's appointment to the stewardship of the lordship of Denbigh and his appointment of Mr. Wynne of Plasnewydd as his deputy (1795), a request for support for Sir Robert Williams against Lord Penrhyn in the [parliamentary election for Carnarvonshire] (1795), the King's recovery from his illness, the writer's opinion that the King could not 'go on without either Pitt or Fox as Prime Minister', his disgust with the political manoeuvering [in parliament], the danger to the country, the unhappy state of parts of the county of Carnarvon (1801), a visit to Paris); [Peter Burrell, Baron] Gwydir [of Gwydir, Caernarvonshire], White Hall [London], 1798 (an invitation to an anniversary dinner of the Honourable Society of Ancient Britons); and Lady Eleanor Butler and Miss [Sarah] Ponsonby, Plas Newydd [Llangollen, 'The Ladies of Llangollen'], undated (social).

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

English, French, Italian.

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area


Title based on contents.


Formerly known as Wigfair 16.


Preferred citation: NLW MS 12416D.

Alternative identifier(s)

Virtua system control number


Access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru = The National Library of Wales

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places

Physical storage

  • Text: NLW MS 12416D.