File NLW MS 12421D. - Letters to John Lloyd of Wigfair,

Identity area

Reference code

NLW MS 12421D.


Letters to John Lloyd of Wigfair,


  • 1770-1812 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

Context area

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Seventy holograph and autograph letters, notes, etc., addressed to John Lloyd at Garden Court, London, at Hafodunos near St. Asaph, at Wigfair near St. Asaph and elsewhere, 1770-1812.
They comprise letters, etc., from Cath[erine] Parry, Soughton, Llwynegrin, etc. [17]76-[?1778] (14) (detailed news of herself, the family and acquaintances, and of happenings in the neighbourhood); D[avid] Pennant, Downing, [Flintshire], 1796-1811 and undated (4) (a request for support with regard to [?the parliamentary election in the county of Flint caused by the death of Sir Roger Mostyn, bart., in July 1796], damage to some of Lloyd's scientific instruments, a quotation from one of [William] Bowles's works relating to various types of jars or vases made in parts of Spain with references to the same from other writers, viz. [Sir John Talbot] Dillon and [Henry] Swinburne); [Richard Pennant, Baron] Penrhyn, Penrhyn near Conway [Carnarvonshire], [? 1795] (a request for support at the next parliamentary election for the county of [Carnarvon]); Tho[mas] Pennant, Downing, [Flintshire], Chester, Lichfield and Gothurst, 1770-1795 and undated (11) (personal, a contract with Moses [Griffith] who was to be instructed 'that he may do justice to our Welch antiquities', a request to Lloyd to ask White, the bookseller [of Fleet Street, London], to advertise the writer's work entitled Synopsis of Quadrupeds [Chester, 1771], a collection of drawings of Welsh monuments in the possession of Mr. Astle probably living in Lambeth, enquiries concerning monuments in the church at Luton, Bedfordshire, a list of buildings, monuments, etc., noted on a journey through Bedfordshire, Buck[inghamshire], Northamptonshire, Warwicksh[ire], Staffordshire and Cheshire (1773), a request that the writer's drawings be left at Mr. White's 'for they must be soon engraven' (1773), comments on relations with America (1775), an earthquake which had shaken the writer's house [at Downing, 1775], congratulations to Lloyd on his work [?as a justice of the peace], a request for a loan of a copy of Mrs. Piozzi's Synonyms [British Synonymy or an Attempt at regulating the choice of Words in Familiar Conversation, by Mrs. Hester Lynch Piozzi, née Salusbury, formerly Mrs. Thrale, London, 1794], in order to check 'some pedigree remarks on the Mostyn family'); Roger Phillips, London, 1794 (the development of a cutting machine, the making of a turning lathe for Sir Joseph Banks, personal), [Constantine John Phipps, 2nd baron] Mulgrave [of New Ross, County Wexford, Ireland, later 1st baron Mulgrave of Mulgrave, Yorkshire], Portsmouth, Bath, and [on board HMS] Courageux, 1776-1780 (5) (enquiries concerning scientific instruments, personal); W. [ ] Phipps, Mulgrave Hall near Whitby, [Yorkshire], undated (personal); Gabriel Piozzi, Brynbella [near Tremeirchion, Flintshire], and Denbigh, 1795-1796 (3) (personal, recommending Mr. Mead as architect in connection with the proposed improvements at Wygfaur and offering timber); Mr. and Mrs. [Gabriel] Piozzi, Brynbella [near Tremeirchion, Flintshire], and Denbigh, 1800-1804 and undated (5) (personal, invitations to dinner, etc.); Mr. and Mrs. [Gabriel] Piozzi and Miss Cecilia Thrale, undated (personal); [Mrs.] H[ester] L[ynch] Piozzi, Brynbella [near Tremeirchion, Flintshire], and Denbigh, [1790]-1809 and undated (18) (personal, legal and business affairs, comment on the war against the French (1799) the position in France (1804) and Bonaparte in Egypt (1809), an offer of a corrected copy of the writer's work entitled Retrospection [or a review of the most striking and important events, characters . . . which the last eighteen hundred years have presented ..., London, 1801], invitations to Brynbella to meet Lady Orkney's family, the bishop of St. Asaph and others, a loan of two volumes of the works of [l’] Abbi [?Guillaume Thomas Frangois] Raynal, local news ); John Planta, Fulnec, near Leeds, 1807 (an order for two spinning wheels, descriptions of two different kinds of Reels and of a music desk); Joseph Pocklington, Carlton House near Newark upon Trent, Nottinghamshire, 1778 (instructions as to 'House covering with Brown Paper'); Rob[er]t Preston, Liverpool, 1793 (financial matters); R. Parry Price, Bryn y pys, [1781x1782] (his inability to attend a meeting of the Order of Druids and his fear of being expelled from the order); and R[ ] Puleston, Camp near Morpeth, Northumberland, and Glan y Môr, Bangor, Carnarvonshire, 1796-1812 (2) (the vacancy in the [parliamentary representation] of the county of Flint caused by the death of Sir Roger Mostyn and the writer's hopes of Lloyd's support in connection therewith (1796), a request for assistance in tracing the pedigree of the Puleston family from 1622 onwards on the occasion of the grant of a baronetcy to the writer (1812)).

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

English, French, Italian.

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Generated finding aid

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area


Title based on contents.


Formerly known as Wigfair 21.


Preferred citation: NLW MS 12421D.

Alternative identifier(s)

Virtua system control number


Access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru = The National Library of Wales

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related genres

Related places

Physical storage

  • Text: NLW MS 12421D.