File CT3/2 - Letters, 1941-1950

Identity area

Reference code



Letters, 1941-1950


  • 1941-1950 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

112 ff.

Context area

Name of creator


Biographical history

Prof. Gwyn Jones (1907-1999), scholar, novelist and short-story writer, was born on 27 May 1907 in Blackwood, Monmouthshire. He was educated at Tredegar County School and later studied at University College, Cardiff, where he graduated in English in 1927. He was awarded an MA degree for a thesis on the Icelandic Sagas in 1929. During the same year he was appointed to a teaching post at Wigan, later moving to Manchester. His first publications, Four Icelandic Sagas and Richard Savage, appeared in 1935, the year in which he moved back to Cardiff as a lecturer in the English Department. In 1940 he was appointed Professor of English at Aberystwyth, where he stayed until 1964, when he was appointed to the Chair of English at Cardiff. He remained there until his retirement in 1975. He was a major figure in Anglo-Welsh literature. He founded, with Creighton Griffiths, the monthly magazine The Welsh Review which appeared, under his editorship, from February to November 1939. He edited some volumes of Welsh short stories and the Oxford Book of Welsh Verse in English (1977). He also wrote three novels. Together with Thomas Jones, the medievalist, he prepared a new translation of the Mabinogi which was first published in 1948. He received many honours, including the Order of the Falcon by the President of Iceland, and was a Commander of the British Empire.

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

The file comprises letters to David Jones from various people including Sir William Coldstream, Major Alfred A. Longden, Gwyn Jones (2), Glyn Jones (2), Graham Reynolds (2), Stanley Morison (2), Rev. Walter Hussey, Kerrison Preston, David Baxandall (2), Sir Eric Maclagan, Prof. August Closs (5), Robert Buhler, Lady Olwen Carey Evans, George Ewart Evans, Ruth Winawer (2), Thomas Charles Edwards, Nancy Dugdale, Carey Morris, A. H. Williams, Ffransis Payne, Anthony Sylvester, Fr. Illtud Evans, Michael Rothenstein, W. F. Jackson Knight, Anna Kallin and others.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Arranged chronologically.

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area


Formerly Group C, Box 13


Preferred citation: CT3/2

Alternative identifier(s)

Virtua system control number


GEAC system control number


Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area