File NLW MS 8140B - Llyfr tonau

Identity area

Reference code

NLW MS 8140B


Llyfr tonau


  • [1841] x [1898] (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

Context area

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

An extensive collection of hymn-tunes begun by Thomas Jones at the age of twenty-three, in 1841. A large number of the signed tunes are by John Ambrose Lloyd. Other composers represented are J. Hughes [Allt-lwyd], R[obert] J[ohn] Pryse ['Gweirydd ap Rhys'], C. Jones, R. Williams, D. Williams, W[illiam] Owens [or Owen], W. Pritchard, R. Griffith, R[osser] Beynon ['Asaph Glan Taf'], D[avid] J[enkin] [Dafydd Siencyn] Morgan, W. Griffith, D[avid] Roberts ['Alawydd'] and D[avid] Hughes ['Cristiolus Môn']; and examples of Welsh hymns.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area


Formerly known as Thomas Jones, Llanfaethlu 29.


Preferred citation: NLW MS 8140B

Alternative identifier(s)

Virtua system control number


GEAC system control number


Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related subjects

Related genres

Related places

Physical storage

  • Text: NLW MS 8140B.