File NLW MS 19072E - Miscellaneous papers and correspondence

Identity area

Reference code

NLW MS 19072E


Miscellaneous papers and correspondence


  • 1766-[?early 20 cent.] (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

40 ff.

Context area

Name of creator

Biographical history

Name of creator

Biographical history

Name of creator

Name of creator

Biographical history

Walter Davies (Gwallter Mechain; 1761-1849), was a cleric, poet, antiquary, and a literary critic.

Name of creator

Biographical history

Name of creator

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Items guarded in a cardboard cover and numbered '7' by J. E. Griffith: The Names of those Persons that ware Drowned in Abermena[i] fery Boat on the 5 Dec. - their Bodys being not found on 24 – (f. 1); A List of the Unfortunate Persons that Perished on Talyfoel Sands in the Abermena[i] Ferry Boat, on Monday Night the 5th Dec. 1785 in their way Home from Carnarvon Fair, Hugh Wms of Tynllwydan being the only man that Came a shore a live upon the Mast and Oar with the Greatest Difficulty Imaginable (f. 2); Extract of a Letter from Hugh Williams of Tinllwydan, Aberffraw Anglesey. From the Chester Chronicle Friday Dec. 23. 1785 [in the hand of J. E. Griffith] (ff. 3-4); 'Damweiniau ar yr Afon Menai' [in the hand of J. E. Griffith] (f. 4); Nine letters, 1766-81, from W[illia]m Williams, Llandygai, to Robert Hughes (Robin Ddu yr Ail o Fôn), at London (Welsh) (ff. 5-21v); A letter, 1818, from W[illia]m Owen Pughe, London, to [the Rev. Hugh Davies, the botanist, of Beaumaris] (f. 22); 'Diolchgarwch i Mr Griffith Griffiths, Taldrwst, am Wair i Ferlyn yr Awdur yn Ngauaf 1846', being verses and a short note from R. M. Williamson (Bardd Môn), Niwbwrch, dated 26 January 1846 [?1847] (ff. 23-24v); A letter, 1809, from Walter Davies (Gwallter Mechain), of Manafon, to William Williams, Llandygai (ff. 25-26); A letter, 1804, from J[ohn] J[ones] Glany Gors at London, to [William] Williams, [Llandygai] (ff. 27-28v); Draft letter, 1805, from [William Williams, Llandygai] to J[ohn] Jones [Glan-y-gors] at London (ff. 29-32v); Two letters, 1770-80, from W[illia]m Williams, Llandygai, to Robert Hughes (Robin Ddu yr Ail o Fôn), at London (Welsh) (ff. 33-36v); Two letters, 1775-6, from Rob[er]t Hughes (Robin Ddu yr Ail o Fon), at London, to William Williams, Llandygai) (ff. 37-40v).

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

  • English
  • Welsh

Script of material

Language and script notes

Welsh, English

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area


Title based on contents

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion


  • English



Accession area