Print preview Close

Showing 8 results

Archival description
Morgan, Dafydd Siencyn, 1752-1844
Advanced search options
Print preview View:

Cerddoriaeth amrywiol

A miscellaneous collection of hymn-tunes, anthems and songs by Welsh composers, including 'Seren Bethlehem' by Edward Stephen ('Tanymarian'), 'Waterloo' by D. J. Morgans, 'Yr hen aelwyd Gymreig' by 'Isallt', 'Cyfraith yr Arglwydd' by D. W. Lewis, 'Trywead alawon' by W. O. Jones, 'Gwyn fyd y gwr' by Dan Protheroe, with Christmas cards in the form of carols, 1907-1912, 'Diangaist i'r Bedd' by D. Emlyn Evans, 'O'r dyfnder y llefais' by W. T. Samuel, 'Gras ein Harglwydd' by M. Morgan, Cwmtawe, 'Atgofion yr hen amser gynt' and 'Cartref fy mebyd' by R. S. Hughes, 'Bow down the knee' by Edward Stephen, 'I will lay me down in peace' by C. Francis Lloyd, 'Prize Composition, 1893' by D. Pughe Evans, and hymn-tunes by W. T. David, John Davies, Godre'r Parc, A. Evans, Llandudno, D. Emlyn Evans, M. O. Jones, T. Amos Jones, D. W. Lewis, William Owen, Porthmadog, and Joseph Parry.


Tune-books of the Reverend Evan Lewis, Brynberian, consisting largely of hymntunes, psalm-tunes, and anthems by D[avid] James, Brynberian (partly in his own hand), Martin Luther, Jo. Smith, R. Engleburt, Dr. [John] Randall, E. Blanks, Rippon, R. Keene, D. Richards, [David Jenkin Morgan], [ J. Williams], [ ] Arnold, J. Edwards, Llangadock, [Ludwig van] Beetho[v] en, Dr. Cope, [ ] Clarke, Thomas James, J[ohn] Evan, Pencareg [near Lampeter], W. Harries, Castellnedd, Wm. Evans, T. Jarman, John Roberts ('Ieuan Gwyllt'), D. Harries, 'ger Pencader', [John] Fawcett, [ ] Hendon, [William Owen, Prysgol], etc., together with compositions extracted from 'Casgliad Roberts' and from Juvenile Magazine, 1840, the words of hymns, airs, etc., and notes on the theory of music. The majority of the compositions were recorded during the period 1844-9, but there are additional items dated to the year 1881.

Evan Lewis.

Tonau ac anthemau

A large collection of hymn-tunes and anthems copied by J. D. Jones, 1849-50. A large number of his own compositions are included, together with works by R. Mills, J. Ambrose Lloyd, Charles James, John Roberts, Aberystwyth, J. Edwards, T. Price, J. R. Evans ('Primrose Hill'; 'aged 10 years'), W. Mathews, R. Beynon, T. E. Jones, T. Jarman, R. Edwards, Edward Stephens ('Tanymarian'), J. D. Edwards, D. J. Morgan, J. Morgan, Aberystwyth, R. H. Prichard, D. T. Williams, William Owens, Griffith Owen, J. Morgan, Cadnant, and English and continental composers.

Llyfr tonau

A tune book containing hymn-tunes collected by David Lewis from various sources. The following Welsh composers are represented: David Lewis, the compiler, Charles James, Llanilar, Thomas Williams ('Hafrenydd'), Llanidloes, Morris Davies, Llanfyllin, Rowland H[uw] Pritchard, Bala, Richard Mills ['Rhydderch Hael'], Ros[s]er Beynon ]['Asaph Glan Tâf'], 'llyfrwerthwr, Merthyr Tydfil', John Edwards, Llangadog, Thomas Edwards, Caerfallwch, T. Phillips, Llanwynio, H. Thomas, 'oriorydd, Caerfyrddin', William Roberts, Caerfyrddin, T. Watkins, Llanfynydd, Thomas Jones, D. Davies, William Howell, Llanidloes, Thomas Davies ['Trithyd'], Llantriddyd, Thomas Jones, 'Trallwm ger Aberhonddu', John Williams ['Ioan Rhagfyr'], Dolgellau, John Edwards, Penderlwyn, Thomas Jordan, W[illiam] Roberts ['Wil Brych'], Tynymaes, J[ohn] Ellis, Llynlleifiad, Thomas Williams, R[ees] P. Williams, Rhymney, David Harri[e]s, Carno and D[avid] J[enkin] [Dafydd Siencyn] Morgan.


A collection of hymn-tunes by Phylip Davies, Llanfyrnach, Richard Mills ['Rhydderch Hael'], D[avid] J[enkin] [Dafydd Siencyn] Morgan, Llechryd, John Edwards, Llangadog, John Roberts, Penllwyn ['Ieuan Gwyllt'], David Hughes ['Cristiolus Môn'], Thomas Jarman, David Lewis and others.

Llyfr tonau

An extensive collection of hymn-tunes begun by Thomas Jones at the age of twenty-three, in 1841. A large number of the signed tunes are by John Ambrose Lloyd. Other composers represented are J. Hughes [Allt-lwyd], R[obert] J[ohn] Pryse ['Gweirydd ap Rhys'], C. Jones, R. Williams, D. Williams, W[illiam] Owens [or Owen], W. Pritchard, R. Griffith, R[osser] Beynon ['Asaph Glan Taf'], D[avid] J[enkin] [Dafydd Siencyn] Morgan, W. Griffith, D[avid] Roberts ['Alawydd'] and D[avid] Hughes ['Cristiolus Môn']; and examples of Welsh hymns.

Llyfr tonau Thomas Jenkins,

  • NLW MS 12134A.
  • File
  • [1821] /

A tune book of Thomas Jenkins, Llanychaearn, co. Cardigan, 1821?, containing hymn-tunes and psalm-tunes by John [David] Edwards ('Aelod o Goleg Iesu Rhydychen') [aft. of Rhosymedre], Thomas Jenkins, Dd. J[enki]n Morgan [of Llechryd], and John Broderip ('organist of Wells and Sipton Mallet'), and numerous unattributed compositions; hymns; 'The Scale of Musick Called the Gamut'; etc.

Jenkins, Thomas, Llanychaearn

John Phillips's Tune Book,

  • NLW MS 23983A.
  • File
  • 1812-1821 /

Tune book, compiled 1812-1821 (watermark 1810), containing psalm tunes, music for a funeral anthem (ff. 4v-6), and hymn-tunes, noted in the hands of Edward Maesgwynne [?p. Llanboidy, Carmarthenshire], 1812 ( f. 3), John Phillips, 1820 (f. 22) and Richard Jones Phillips, 1821 (f. 6). The volume belonged to John Phillips of Penrallt kibier [Pen yr Allt Ceibwr, p. St Dogmael's, Pembrokeshire] (inside rear cover). Two tunes - Pleasant Morning and New Durham - are accompanied by Welsh words (ff. 6v-8).
The source of one tune is noted as 'David Morgan's Book 1820' (f. 3v), and the authorship of two tunes - Abergeleu and Wonderful - is ascribed to the same individual, 1820 (ff. 16v, 18v, 19v). David Morgan may possibly be identified as Dafydd Siencyn Morgan (1752-1844), the Cardiganshire precentor and composer.

Edwards Maesgwynne, John Phillips and Richard Jones Phillips.